Wondrous Words Wednesday: Mark Buckingham

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) and interesting (to us, again) words we encountered in our readings. See this week round-up at BermudaOnion’s blog!

My words for this week come from Pinocchio’s Army by Mark Buckingham, a short story that is part of Fables 15 – Rose Red.

*****

Most of the human ex-residents of Fabletown had formed a higgledy-piggledy canvas community.

higgledy-piggledy: adv. & adj. in confusion or disorder.

*****

It isn’t easy to be chipper when you share your home with a perpetual grouch.

grouch: n. a habitually grumpy person.

*****

(All definitions are taken from the Concise Oxford English Dictionary © 2008 via WordReference.com unless otherwise stated.)

5 comments on “Wondrous Words Wednesday: Mark Buckingham

  1. Hi Scribacchina,

    Wow! this has to be a first … I know both of your words this week.

    I am writing this on my laptop, in my higgledy-piggledy office, feeling in a very grouchy mood, as it is quite late here in the UK and I am very tired!

    Two very typically English words and whilst the book they come from isn’t really my cup of tea, I love the illustrations and am just constantly amazed at the huge talent and vision some people have.

    Thanks for sharing,

    Yvonne

  2. My parents used grouch so I feel like I’ve always known that. I think my grandmother used higgledy-piggledy, because I know that one, too, but haven’t heard it as often. It’s a funny word, isn’t it?

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

