Reader’s diary #1

This post is for personal record only, feel free to skip it.

After changing the way I’m managing this blog, I decided to avoid writing about all the books I read, but I still want to record them for my own future reference. This is the kind of cumulative post I’ll be doing to that end.

Diana Gabaldon, Outlander
840 pages of boredom topped off with some crazy nonsense. (Yes, I was so bored that I wasn’t even shocked by the violence, and yes, the priest’s blessings at the end are nonsense.)

Martin Zoeller, Madonna, ein Blonder!
Funny as expat accounts can be, but the author never actually discards the expat eyes nor blends into Italian life.

Mike Brown, How I Killed Pluto and Why It Had It Coming
Light and interesting, although it tells you more about academia than it does about planets.

Erin Morgenstern, The Night Circus
Great atmosphere, I’d love to visit the circus, and I loved this book more than (my) words can say. But the ending… either it’s too complicated and I didn’t get it, or it was very much rushed. I think it’s the second. Pity.

Ken Follett, Fall of Giants
Way to put faces on history. (And it managed to avoid all those rape scenes from Pillars. Good.) I want to read more.

Ahmadou Kourouma, Allah n’est pas obligé
Supposedly a masterpiece… but I guess Africa is too distant for me to appreciate.

Bill Willingham et al., Fables 12 – The Dark Ages
Made me uncomfortable. The story is really going places where I’m not sure I want to follow. But I trust the authors and have more volumes ready.

Fiona Robyn, The Most Beautiful Thing
A story about how difficult it is to socialize and about depression. Forgettable.

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

