A matter of prospective perspective

You may have noticed (and if you had not, I decided to bring it to your attention) how I have been blogging less and less lately. While I love the experience, I was getting disaffected: blogging takes a lot of time and effort, two things that I should, maybe, channel into other aspects of my life, and moreover this blog is not getting where I want it to be (although I have to admit I am not really sure where that is). So lately, after cutting off other time-sucking activities to focus on the most important things (i.e. family and work), I kept thinking: should I abandon blogging altogether?

That was too hard a decision. But I do need to rethink how I blog and what this blog is about, and where I want to go with it.

So when Bloggiesta came around, I decided to use this time to work on this decision. It was #4 in my original list — so before I tell you what I decided, let me say that despite the little time I was able to go through my list and enjoy the Bloggiesta once more! I finished reading The Rock, wrote the 2 posts that were to be published on October 1st (they are not yet published as I write this, but they are ready and scheduled), designed a button (which you will hopefully see later this month), and had fun exploring the many mini-challenges, which are informative as always. [ETA: and I won a prize from the mini-challenge on Geeky Bloggers Books Blog! Yay!]

And I thought.

A lot.

And I came up with a series of guidelines that I will try to follow here from now on:

  1. Up to now, I tried to write down my thoughts for each book I read, but those posts are mostly half-and-half, neither objective reviews nor subjective ones, and I am not really interested in writing them. From now on, I will do cumulative posts that will be just the record of my reactions for myself.
  2. This will free up more time for me to write fuller posts when I am more interested in doing so, i.e. books that I particularly want to talk about.
  3. I realized that I like reviews to be very subjective, so that’s what I will do with my “(not really) reviews” posts.
  4. I will concentrate more on other posts, such as the Travel with Books Project, and other non-review bookish/wordish stuff.
  5. While I won’t really abandon challenges, I will take a lighter attitude to them: I won’t fret about writing (and linking) reviews.
  6. I will write less on this blog, and hopefully interact more on the ones I like and read!

So that’s the idea for the future. One of the points in my Bloggiesta program was to write some of those posts I am talking about. Of course I never got around to do so, but I did draw a schedule for the month of October. It’s tentative, so we’ll have to wait and see how it goes, but I am hopeful. I’ll put it here, so you can bash me when I won’t stick to it 🙂

You can click on the picture to see it full-size, but I didn’t want to spoil the surprise for anyone, so there are no titles in there… The image is based on a free schedule template by One Woman Marketing — if you work well with pen&paper, check out that link and download Kelly Kautz’s templates, because they are gorgeous!

I said it’s tentative: that’s why there’s already a big red arrow, because I already changed something!

Oh, the title? It’s just a tribute to good words:

prospective: adj. expected or likely to happen or be in the future.
perspective:n. a particular way of regarding something.
(definitions are from the Concise Oxford English Dictionary, via Wordreference.com)

so basically, it’s just my view of the future.

2 comments on “A matter of prospective perspective

  1. Wow! I’m impressed, you really thought this through, didn’t you? I can really relate to the your 6 conclusions, especially number 3. Sometime I wish I could just write having in mind the people who have already read the book, so that I could skip the summary and all that. I want to chat more than review.

    Also agree that non-review posts are important, especially to connect more with the people who read you. It’s interesting to know more about someone’s life, where they live, etc. And that is possible even protecting your privacy, I think. Lists are also great fill-in posts: fun to write, fun to read, easy to comment.

    Can I also throw in another advice: reserve at least 1 hour a week to comment on other blogs. Have an organized Reader where you can even prioritize, e.g. these 10 blogs I will always (or nearly) comment on, these 50 I will comment once in a while, when I have time.

  2. Well, I went so far as to think about cutting my reading time, it was that bad… So I did have to think very well about blogging too. I hope it works.
    Thank you for the commenting advice. I don’t know that setting time aside for it would work for me, because then it would feel too much like work, but prioritize yes, and challenge myself to comment on everything a few bloggers write, and work from there. It may work. Thanks!

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

