Wondrous Words Wednesday: Melina Marchetta

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) and interesting (to us, again) words we encountered in our readings. See this week round-up at BermudaOnion’s blog!

My words for this week come from Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, but they’re not all Australian as I thought at first!

*****

It makes me want to yell at the God that I wish I didn’t believe in. For hogging him all to himself. I want to say, You greedy God. Give him back. I needed him here.

hog: v. informal take or hoard selfishly.

*****

Eve? She’s a fruitcake.

Fruitcake, yum! … Except I don’t think that’s what they mean here.
Photo credits: Matthew Bietz on Flickr

fruitcake: n. informal an eccentric or mad person.

*****

Guns n’ Roses have such skanky hos in their film clips

skanky-ho: n. NZ slang a promiscuous woman
*This definition comes from TheFreeDictionary.com

*****

He thinks the territory wars are over because you and Griggs pashed.

and later:

Although the whole town is talking about the snog you and Griggs…

pash: v. Austral./NZ kiss and caress amorously.

snog: n. an act or period of amorous kissing.

I guess there is an unlimited supply of synonyms…

*****

She was so off her face.

off one’s face: adj. extremely intoxicated, either by alcohol or drugs.
*This definition comes from Wiktionary

I thought it meant either very happy or very sad, but I was wrong.

*****

(All definitions are taken from the Concise Oxford English Dictionary © 2008 via WordReference.com unless otherwise stated.)

9 comments on “Wondrous Words Wednesday: Melina Marchetta

  1. Hog, fruitcake, and skanky ho are pretty commonly used in the US, I’m rather sad to say. I like “off one’s face” and think I can use that one. Thanks for playing along.

  2. As Kathy said, you hear hog, fruitcake, and skanky ho (LOL!) here. I have never heard pash, nor Off Your Face! The last one is fun to visualize!

  3. I don’t know if it’s good or bad, but I knew all your words today. I think I’d like to read Jellicoe Road based on your sentences here.

  4. @ Kathy: I hope you were not offended by my choice of “wondrous” words.
    @ Margot & Vicki: I thought I was the last person on earth who had not read it yet 🙂 and I did like it a lot!
    @ all: thank you for visiting!

  5. I’m running late this week, but am so glad that I got to stop by your post. As an Australian I knew all your words. It’s funny what you don’t realise are expression that aren’t universal. Off her face surprised me. It’s certainly a term I do use (when needed). Pash I think of as an Australian word, snog to me is British.

  6. Thanks for visiting! Because it’s young Australian people speaking, I did expect most words to be Australian slang, and I was actually surprised when the dictionary said they were not.

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

