I must be joking… (a filler post)

Alternate title: book lists and more challenges (just because)

Yesterday I received a Bookring book – the first in the Hunger Games trilogy. I’ve never been enticed by its premise, but after all the hype, and the movie, when I saw a chance to get all three books from Bookcrossing I decided to give them a go. We’ll see. But between that (3 Brings make for some time constraint) and my perusal of my own 2012 challenges page (which I need to work on, really!) I felt the urge to write down a list of books I want to get to before my next reading stats update (i.e. before the end of June). I usually don’t: I prefer to choose my books one by one, so this is new for me, and I wonder how it will go. And here, in no particular order, is the list:

  • The Hunger Games (plus the other two books in the series, provided they arrive here in time)
  • The Lord of the Flies
  • Gates of Fire
  • A Feast for Crows
  • Jellicoe Road
  • The Sacred Night
  • Blessed Are the Cheesemakers
  • The Rock
  • Prose Edda
  • Gilgamesh

(I think I’ll never make it. And I’ll never stick to the list anyway. So. Ahem.)

And now for the “must be joking” part: you guessed it, I’m signing up for more challenges!

The Classic Double Challenge is hosted by Melissa at One Librarian Book Reviews. I just love the idea: read one classic, and one book related to it. Like, read Jane Eyre, and The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde. Or, read Little Women, and March by Geraldine Brooks. You get the idea.

I haven’t picked out titles yet, but I’m keeping this easy at the lower level: just 2 books (one can always add more later, right?)

The Summer Challenge, hosted at a Semi-Charmed Kind of Life, I am doing just for fun — because a light summer challenge is always good, and because the categories fit well my own plans!

  • a book chosen for the U.S. 2012 World Book Night If I can get a copy… there’s more than one that I’d love to read
  • a book you were supposed to read in school, but either bailed on or Cliff-Noted The Prose Edda. I wasn’t supposed to read the whole of it, but it was part of the curriculum
  • a memoir or narrative nonfiction book
  • read a book in one calendar day. (Must be at least 150 pages long.) Blessed are the Cheesemakers. I know I can make it. I just need to be traveling.
  • a book that you’ve always wanted to read but haven’t gotten around to yet
  • a pair of books that have antonyms in the titles
  • a book that is set in a place you’ve never been but want to visit The Sacred Night (that’s Morocco) or Jellicoe Road (for Australia)
  • a book written the year you were born that was later made into a movie. Read the book and watch the movie; compare.
  • Go into a bookstore or library. Pick any bookshelf. Read the third book from the left on the fourth shelf from the top. (If it’s not at least 200 pages, pick the next book to the right.)
  • a book about which you’ve heard bad things A Feast for Crows. I’ve heard plenty of bad things. From myself, mostly.
  • a trilogy (or any three consecutive books in a series) The Hunger Games trilogy. That was easy 🙂
3 comments on “I must be joking… (a filler post)

  1. Thanks for joining the challenge, and sorry about the commenting – I was moderating comments for older posts, so I published them now :). And you can definitely start small and read more if you have time! Looking forward to hearing about your book choices.

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

