Now reading (1st quarter 2012)

Although a little bit late (due to Bloggiesta and Easter commitments), here I am with a roundup of my readings this first quarter of 2012. But before, a small note on page count: this quarter I started reading e-books and I wondered how to count pages with them. After considering several options, the one that I found most consistent and that I decided to use is the page count given from the on-screen reader of Calibre (which I use to convert formats and found very good up to now). Still, I’m interested in hearing what you think: if you count pages, what method do you use for e-books? Please share in the comments!

Without further ado, the figures:

Total books read: 19

Total pages read: 6099

Oh my, I thought I was doing well, but I am actually down in comparison with last year 😦

By language:

  • in English: 11 books, 3394 pages
  • in Italian: 6 books, 2294 pages
  • in German: 1 book, 396 pages
  • in French: 1 book, 15 pages

By author’s nationality:

  • 6 books from USA
  • 4 books from Italy
  • 2 books from Gibraltar
  • 1 book each from France, Germany, Greece, Japan, New Zealand, Norway and South Africa

Highlights (or, books I would recommend): The Geometry of Love, Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow, Fall of a Sparrow

Down low (or, don’t bother to read that): The Prague Cemetery, In Honor to Cain, Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name

From you to me (or, additions to my wishlist — *’ed books have already reached my TBR pile as well):

  • Cane River by Lalita Tademy, suggested by Steph whose blurb captivated me
  • The Book Club Cookbook by Judy Gelman and Vicki Levy Krupp, which is a great idea that I first heard about from Alyssa
  • *The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, which I saw everywhere, but what made me finally give in and buy it was this non-review by Alex
  • The Passion by Jeanette Winterson, suggested by Dolce Bellezza who wrote that it brings together magical realism, Biblical references, and Venice
  • How I Killed Pluto And Why It Had It Coming by Mike Brown, reviewed by Alex, whose post fostered an interesting discussion and also brought to my attention The Pluto Files: The Rise and Fall of America’s Favorite Planet by Neil deGrasse Tyson
  • The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman, which was brought to my attention by this review on BermudaOnion’s blog and picked my curiosity as do all things related to Masada (and Israel history in general)

Challenges update:

  • Medieval Challenge: 0/4
  • Reading Round Rome: 2/7
  • What’s in a Name: 3/6
  • Greek Classics: 1/2
  • Antonym Challenge: 2/6+1
  • Middle East Challenge: 0/3
  • Aussie Author Challenge: 0/3
  • Back to the Classics: 2/9
  • Dewey Decimal Challenge: 1/10
  • Africa Reading Challenge: 0/5
  • Chunkster Challenge: 1/6

Finished this quarter: Venice in February
Failed this quarter: none

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

