On British accents and Wondrous Words Wednesday

An online forum I participate in mentioned today this BBC article, which I believe is interesting enough a read to share with you: Why are fantasy world accents British? By Brian Wheeler

Aaand… I thought I had no new words to share today, but the article and the forum discussion provided me with two!

His US/British accent in Robin Hood Prince of Thieves was so jarring, and out of historical context, that it stood as a warning to all future directors.

Jar: v. 1 send a painful or uncomfortable shock through (a part of the body). Strike against something with an unpleasant vibration or jolt 2 have a disturbing or incongruous effect.

*****

It’s all faux mediaeval codswallop.

Codswallop: n. Brit. informal nonsense.

*****

(All definitions are taken from the Concise Oxford English Dictionary © 2008 via WordReference.com unless otherwise stated.)

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) and interesting (to us, again) words we encountered in our readings. See this week round-up at BermudaOnion’s blog!

8 comments on “On British accents and Wondrous Words Wednesday

  1. I love that you both said the same thing 🙂
    I had heard jar many times, but couldn’t quite put my finger on its precise meaning. And I love codswallop because it sounds so British!

  2. I often wondered about the British accents as well. My boyfriend, for instance, was put off by the TV series Rome because of the British accents and I’m sure that if they were American he wouldn’t even notice…

  3. As an Australian we often use or know British words, so I was familiar with both these words. Codswallop is a particularly good word. I haven’t used it in a while. I’m going to use it this week.

  4. @ Alex: I’m mostly deaf to accents, but even for me it takes time to adjust, so I can see how that could happen.
    @ Louise: I’m glad you found a word you can use 😉

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

