Musical books – a Top Ten Tuesday list

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme for the list lovers among book bloggers, created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Today the theme is: “Top Ten Books You’d Give A Theme Song To”.

While I’m not a very musical person, it’s an interesting game: I went through my reading lists and tried to match a song to each book. So mine is not a top ten, just a number of connections I made up. If you have any better idea, I’m curious, please share in the comments!

  1. Verdi’s Dies Irae for Luther Blissett’s Q
    The music sounds epic and dangerous and the lyrics fit the story as a glove
  2. Aerosmith’s I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing for Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveler’s Wife
    “Every moment spent with you is a moment I treasure”: it picks up a completely new meaning in the context of this novel
  3. Sting’s Gabriel’s Message for O. Henry’s The Gift of the Magi
    This little-known song is to me the best Christmas song ever, so it fits beautifully one of the best Christmas stories ever.
  4. The Bangles’s Eternal Flame for Andrew Davidson’s The Gargoyle
    This book needs a song that talks about fire, and about eternal love. And I can totally see the narrator thinking: “A whole life so lonely/And then you come and ease the pain”
  5. Sting’s When We Dance for John Irving’s The Cider House Rules
    Some parts of this song’s story just fit: “Come and live with me/We’ll have children of our own/I would love you more than life/If you’ll come and be my wife”
  6. Abba’s I Have a Dream for C.S. Lewis The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
    … or basically for any other book where children escape their real life to a fantasy world…
  7. Loreena McKennitt’s The Mystic’s Dream for Amin Maalouf’s Samarkand
    McKennitt’s music has the right balance of East and West to be perfect to listen to while reading this novel

That’s all I have for today! If you have any better idea for these books, I’m curious, please share in the comments!

6 comments on “Musical books – a Top Ten Tuesday list

  1. YES! “I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing” is such a good song pick for The Time Traveler’s Wife! It describes the relationship Claire and Henry (I’m have a brain freeze…I that’s their names) have perfectly.

    Thanks so much for participating this week! We really appreciate it! 🙂

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

