Top Books That Broke My Heart

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme for the list lovers(*) among book bloggers, created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Today the theme is: “Top Ten Books That Broke My Heart A Little” (anti-Valentine, anyone?).

Ready for some sad valentine feeling? Here goes:

  1. Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveler’s Wife: I know this will make most lists today. It goes without saying: one of the saddest love stories I ever read. One of the things that I loved most is that, despite the time traveling, the book is very true-to-life, especially in how the love relationship is portrayed along a whole life. Loved to cry for this one!
  2. Ken Follett, World Without End: you see their love from page one, but there’s always something in the way. A dramatic love story as can be. Could not put down until I knew how it would turn out for them (and I guess it’s some 800 pages before the outcome!)
  3. Tim Powers, The Drawing of the Dark: another luck-less couple. Epiphany’s name suggested that she had a bigger role to play… but her story ends too soon (and I hated the author for that!)
  4. J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings: I know Aragorn and Arwen get their hearts’ wish, but have you ever read their full story in the Appendices? So sad.
  5. Marcela Serrano, Goodbye Little Women: I cannot say anything about this book without giving it away… I’ll just say that I was so happy for the story with Jamie… and then so sad… (This book is not available in English, but if you can read Spanish, go and check it out right this moment!)

ASIDE:

To all list lovers: has any of you visited the exhibition on lists at the Morgan Library & Museum last year? I’d love to hear from you, and to know whether it was as good as I imagine!

7 comments on “Top Books That Broke My Heart

  1. Ever since reading the “A Room With a View” appendice I try to avoid them. Didn’t even know there was one for LotR. Is it very-very sad? Not sure I want to read it…

  2. Thanks for your list… and as someone who doesn’t like to cry, I appreciate the “heads up” 🙂 I have to admit, though, I did love The Time Traveler’s Wife.

  3. Omg, how could I have forgotten the appendices re: Aragorn and Arwen’s story? One of the saddest love stories I’ve ever read, so haunting ;_;

    I’ve been meaning to check out Tim Powers, will have to do so one of these days =)

    Thanks for dropping by my blog! Btw, that’s cool that you’re Italian; I did an exchange there back in 2010 and am currently learning the language xD

  4. Thank you all for your comments!
    Re: Time Traveller’s Wife, I don’t think it’s tragic, it’s more bittersweet, the way life is.
    Re: Aragorn and Arwen: also bittersweet 🙂 I think their love story is one of the sweetest ever, but the way it’s told in the Appendices it gives insight into what Arwen had to go through, which is kind of overlooked in the novel itself.
    @ Alex: I think that Appendices add something to the novel when they are by the author. In this case, the Appendices are he place where Tolkien gave free rein to his inner scholar 🙂 they’re full of “history”, whole lists of kings and the like. But there are also insights on what happened to the characters after the end of the novel, and there’s the whole story of Aragorn and Arwen, which is very good.
    @ Li: I discovered The Drawing of the Dark completely by chance last year, but it is a jewel! Where have you been in Italy? Feel free to comment in Italian here if you want to try your hand at it 🙂

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

