Top 5+5 Books to Kindle Book Love

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme for the list lovers among book bloggers, created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Today the theme is: “Top 10 Books I’d Hand to Someone Who  Says They Don’t Like To Read”.

I believe that with people like that you really need to take their own interest into consideration before ever handing them a book. And even to draw a general list, you need to bring their age into the equation. So this time you’ll get a 5+5 list of books for children and adults, and a more general scheme of how I would proceed!

  1. I’d start with comics or graphic novels (that’s where I learned to read after all!), because they’re less daunting than books, easier to approach, and at the same time the person would be reading and (hopefully) having fun. Children choice: any Mickey Mouse collection. Adult choice: Fables by Bill Willingham.
  2. Next I’d offer something short and fun. The best ones I can come up with are Italian, but I’m sure there’s plenty of similar books in English too. Children choice: Streghetta mia by Bianca Pitzorno. Adult choice: Allegro ma non troppo by Carlo M. Cipolla.
  3. If the previous two have kindled some interest, it’s time to move to something still simple, not too long, but completely engrossing. Children choice: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl. Adult choice: The Cider House Rules by John Irving.
  4. Now it’s the time to show them that reading is cool! Children choice: Inkheart by Cornelia Funke. Adult choice: The Rights of the Reader by Daniel Pennac.
  5. And finally, something that will sweep them off their feet and leave a mark forever, something that they will recall years later as a pleasurable reading. Children choice: The Neverending Story by Michael Ende. Adult choice: Lord of the Rings by John R.R. Tolkien.

What would be your choices?

6 comments on “Top 5+5 Books to Kindle Book Love

  1. @ Trish: I haven’t read much by him, but that little I read was fantastic, yes. I am a bit confused about English translations… I suspect the book we mentioned is the same?
    @ Lady Kell: I actually didn’t *love* Inkheart, but that is because I read it when I was too old! 🙂 (Yes, I tend to be very critical towards YA nowadays…) Still, it made my list, because I can see it would fascinate children and teens!

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

