Top 10 Books I’d Love to Discuss

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme for the list lovers among book bloggers, created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Today the theme is “Top Ten Books I Think Would Make Great Book Club Picks”.

Now, one of the saddest things about my love of reading is that I never ever had a chance to participate in a book club, it looks like they are not at all common where I live (nor where I used to live in the past). I looked for on line book clubs, but wasn’t very lucky there either: the one I did find, we read and commented one book, and then it was over. 😦

Anyway, here are the top books I would have loved to discuss with a book club after reading:

  1. Peter Carey, Oscar and Lucinda: it looks like I’m the only one who didn’t like this novel, so maybe someone could explain to me what’s so good about it.
  2. Eric Orsenna, The Indies Enterprise: I said so when I first read this one. It may be a bit weak in terms of narrative, but it is chock full of themes to discuss about.
  3. Jonathan Safran Foer, Everything Is Illuminated: I could say of this book the same thing that I said of Orsenna’s: it’s chock-full of themes to talk and think about. Except that this is also a passionating read in and of itself, and a good book all around.
  4. José Saramago, The Gospel According to Jesus Christ: while I did quite like this book, there are so many layers to it that I would have loved a confrontation with other readers and other thoughts.
  5. Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore: my only Murakami so far. I think I’d need someone to read this with me, because while highly readable, I’d love to hear the thoughts of people who know more about Japan and Japanese fiction. There are too many things in there that made no sense at all to me.
  6. Mikhail Bulgakov, The Master and Margarita: I read this last year and it went right over my head. Would love to read it with someone’s help.
  7. Aristophanes, Lysistrata: I read this earlier this year, and the same applies.
  8. John Irving, The Cider House Rules: I loved this book so much, I just want to shout it from the rooftops! I’d love to share my love by discussing it!
  9. Rose Tremain, Music and Silence: a little-known jewel of a book, I would suggest it as a book club read just to have more people read it.
  10. Erik Fosnes Hansen, Psalm at Journey’s End: another little-known jewel, and one that I would suggest for the same reason as above.

So… anyone know of a good on line book club? Anyone want to read one of these titles with me? Just let me know, OK?

4 comments on “Top 10 Books I’d Love to Discuss

  1. It’s been quite a while for me too, but I’d jump right in again if given the chance to discuss it. Oh wait… maybe I want to reread it even without the discussion. Just wait till I get back to my parents’ house, it should be on my bookshelves there somewhere…

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

