Top 5 Bookish Movies I Dream of

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme for the list lovers among book bloggers, created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Today the theme is free and I am picking one of the past themes I have not done yet: “Top Ten Books You Want to See Made into Movies”.

OK, really? I’m not a big movie-goer. Some of these may have already been made into movies that I never heard of.  And some have been made into movies, but pitifully so. But this is my list of books that have potential, given the right director and cast and effects. I think these could be made into great films!

So here goes, top ten books I would love to see on the big screen:

  1. Michael Ende, The Neverending Story: this one has had at least 3 movies made out of it, and they’re not terrible either. But the special effect techniques have evolved a lot since then, and I would love to see this re-made, more faithful to the book and with better effects. I dream of how beautiful the Ivory Tower would turn out to be, and I guess I would be too scared to look at Ygramul. And the sweetest scene would be… no, I cannot say that, it’s a spoiler 🙂 Oh, I guess I would prefer George Lucas to Tim Burton… sure, Burton could make a great job of it, but he would leave too strong a footprint!
  2. Umberto Eco, The Name of the Rose: you saw this coming, right? The existing movie is… I’ll better not say anything or I’d become offensive. I’m sure there’s some good historical movie director who could give this another take and develop all the power of Eco’s novel! Please?
  3. Anita Nair, Mistress: all the mystery of India, music, theater and dance, plus love and secrets. This would work well with any director who is good at hinting and innuendos. No Bollywood-style, though, please!
  4. Markus Zusak, The Book Thief: I would love to see this transformed into a musical. It would be a good way to touch on the subject of Nazism and the Holocaust without disrespect but also while keeping it lighter. Just like Radu Mihăileanu did in “Train of Life”.
  5. China Mieville, Un Lun Dun: another trove of potential special effects… Or rather… I would love to see this animated, possibly by the people who did “Shrek 2”.

That’s all for now!

3 comments on “Top 5 Bookish Movies I Dream of

  1. It would be neat to see a new Neverending Story–one of the few that I could agree with a remake of. But I’m not sure they could improve on the casting of Atreyu and the Childlike Empress. I agree about no Tim Burton!!

    I’m having a hard time wrapping my brain around the idea of a movie about India, music, and dance without any Bollywood in it–as in Indian film. If you mean the cheesier aspects of it, then OK, but Bollywood does classy and mysterious too.

  2. @ Dangermom: I am glad you agree on Neverending Story! As for Bollywood: as I said, I am not a strong movie-goer, and I do believe you if you say Bollywood could do this book rightly. For me, while written by an Indian, this book was much about the way we Westerners see India… that’s why I think I would much prefer to see it made by a Westerner 🙂

    @ Nea: what I like in that movie is that, while it cannot be compared to the book, it’s still a great movie in its own right.

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

