Into the new year: reading goals

Welcome 2012!

You know how many people believe that the world will end before this year is over? Well, I’m sure it won’t, but anyway I won’t allow it, because I still have too many books to read! (And many things to do, also, but that’s a story for another time.) So what’s the best way to avoid the “Armageddon”? Answer: it’s to have plenty of reading goals for 2012! 😉 (*)

You may already have seen my reading lists and goals for this year in the dedicated page, but I thought I would set them out here, to kick off the new year with a suitable post. My most important goal for the year is to read more diversely in terms of language. I give myself a goal of 5 books per major language (French, German and Portuguese) and one per minority language (Friulian), but I do hope to reach this goal by next summer and so double the figures. In terms of places, I will keep up the Travel With Books Reading Project (now with its own page, so I won’t bore you with more details here) and I signed up for several location-themed challenges.

I mentioned last year that I am interested in reading more about myths and fairy tales. The original idea spread out so far that I realized I need at least three different reading lists:

Group 1: mythology

  1. Prose Edda
  2. Bulfinch’s Mythology
  3. Le Mort D’Arthur
  4. Gilgamesh

Group 2: about fairy tales

  1. On Fairy Stories (Tolkien)
  2. Morphology of the Folktale (Propp)
  3. Why Fairy Tales Stick (Zipes)
  4. something on the Aarne-Thompson classification

Group 3: fairy tales (and myth) retellings

  1. Beauty
  2. Beastly
  3. Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow
  4. Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
  5. Ash
  6. Till We Have Faces: A Myth Retold

(I guess this list will have to do for now, but of course if you have suggestions to add I will ear them gladly!)

The other thing that will keep me reading through the year are challenges! Many of them! But because I don’t want to bother you with too many lists, I’ll just refer you to my 2012 challenges page if you are curious. But beware: more challenges are coming soon!

________________________________________

(* In case you are wondering, I’m just joking!)

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

