Top Five+Five Books On My TBR List For Winter

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme for the list lovers among book bloggers, created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme is “Top Ten Books On My TBR List For Winter”. I see many bloggers that choose their books based on season, Christmas-themed novels for December, say, or on the other hand snow-and-ice novels to cool off in the heat of summer. I’m not like that at all, so my list will look a bit different.

But, in truth, there are two groups of books n my TBR-immediately pile right now: those that I need to finish challenges (December is almost here, and the end of 2011 challenges comes right after that), and those that do not fit in any challenge and have been put off because of that, but I really can’t wait to start. So actually, this is a Top 5+5 list. Here goes.

Top five books I need to read by the end of 2011:

  1. Mia Couto, O outro pé da sereia: this was the one book that made me sign up for the I Want More challenge, and it is still waiting.
  2. Alexandre Dumas, A Small Guide to Great European Wines: my non-fiction choice for the wine-tasting theme at One! Two! Theme, I do hope it’s as easily readable as it’s claimed to be
  3. Margaret Visser, The Geometry of Love: counting for Italy in Books, my Travel with Books project, and 2012 Reading Round Rome, it’s the one I am currently reading, and great so far.
  4. A South Asian book: any good titles?
  5. A book set in Italy (or three): I don’t think I will be able to finish this challenge 😦

Top 5 books I am dying to read:

  1. Umberto Eco,The Prague Cemetery: it’s been a while since the last great book by Eco, and this may be it. I bought it months ago, but it is quietly waiting at my other address.
  2. John Irving, Last Night in Twisted River: after The Cider House Rules, which was my best of 2010 read, I bought this… and never really got around to it.
  3. Sophie McDougall, Rome Burning: the second installment of the Romanitas series, and I do want to know if it is as good as people claim it is.
  4. Victoria Hislop, The Return: after so much fantasy, I am craving a down-to-heart chunkster, and I do hope it is as good as her first.
  5. Sarah Waters, Fingersmith: who hasn’t heard good things about this? I finally have it with me and it’s already hard not to dive right in.
2 comments on “Top Five+Five Books On My TBR List For Winter

  1. I’m glad to hear you liked the Prague Cemetery. Thanks for the suggestions, I’ve seen Last Man in the Tower in libraries, but didn’t know whether it was only hype.

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

