Shameless: Top Ten Books on My Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme for the list lovers among book bloggers, created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme is “Top Ten Authors I’d Love To Have At My Thanksgiving Feast”. Except that I don’t feel at ease at all with that theme, because we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving around here, but most of all because I am not a fan of meeting authors. For much that I admire them, I would stammer and be at loss as to what to say and eventually say something that I then would recall cringing for the rest of my life. That’s me for you, and I’d rather never invite authors to dinner.

So what am I doing with this post? Because I am completely shameless, I decided to anticipate a future theme, one that I probably won’t have time to do in December (I won’t be around too much in Dec. anyway): “Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings”. Santa may be already looking for the perfect gift, and Dec. 20th may be too late for him to choose from my list — just saying. (I told you I am completely shameless!)

So here goes, top ten books I would love to hold in my hands soon:

  1. Kiran Desai, The Inheritance of Loss: it’s been a while since my last Indian read.
  2. Scott Lynch, The Lies of Locke Lamora: already been waiting for too long…
  3. Mohsin Amid, The Reluctant Fundamentalist: with this I could complete one of my unfinished challenges for 2011.
  4. Sherman Alexie, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian: another one I’ve been stalking for ages.
  5. Marion Zimmer Bradley, The Firebrand: this has been popping up again and again this year, from completely different sources, and I need to put my hands on it!
  6. Alice Vieira,Os Olhos de Ana Marta: because I’m looking forward to some good Portuguese reading and this comes recommended by all the Portuguese book bloggers I know.
  7. George R.R. Martin, A Feast for Crows+A Dance With Dragons (yes, it’s two books, so I’m cheating on the total of 10, so what?): I’m trying to wait a little, so as to get nearer to the publication date of the last two in the series and not have to keep waiting with my mouth watering for too long — but of course if I was to find these under the Christmas tree I’d devour them!
  8. Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games: everyone seems to love this, but left on my own I’m not sure I’ll ever get to it.
  9. Sarah-Kate Lynch, By Bread Alone/Blessed Are the Cheesemakers (see Two books! I’m doing it again!): someone mentioned these two back in the days of my first blog. They sure sound interesting.
  10. or whatever else crosses your mind, Santa, really! 🙂

See, the Christmas tree is already up, I've been a good girl! (Photo credits: Jim Nix / Nomadic Pursuits on Flickr)

2 comments on “Shameless: Top Ten Books on My Wishlist

  1. Dear Santa,
    I hope you don’t mind a little help: you can cross item 6 out of your list, I have already taken care of that.

    Heartily wishes,
    Scribacchina’s hubby

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

