Plans

The 24 hour read-a-thon is almost here, yay!

After dropping out of last spring read-a-thon, husband and I couldn’t wait for this one to start. It’s been a crazy week, juggling work and other things, and trying to get ready for the read-a-thon and trying to finish the backlog of reviews… Well, reviews at least I have crossed off, and I think by now I may be organized well enough for the weekend, so I’ll share my plans with you. As for husband’s plans, I don’t know. I don’t think he has any. Except one, of course: to read. (As for work an the other things, I’m still overwhelmed, but I do hope to resurface in time 🙂 )

Roles

For the first time, I will be a cheerleader too! I plan on reading most of the time, and focus 3-4 hours on cheerleading when I start slowing down on books. Oh, if you are curious, I’ll be cheering for Team Golden Grahams!

Times

Unfortunately, I have a previous commitment that will occupy my time for some 4 hours right after the beginning. So… I decided I’ll start reading 4 hours earlier! This will give me 5 hours to read (and check in at the official opening time) before driving off, and I’ll be back around hour 6, hopefully sooner. I mention this in case commenters note my absence during the first hours of the read-a-thon, I’ll be back, I promise!

Also, based on past experiences (when commenting on other participants distracted me from blogging which distracted me from reading), I decided to try and keep the three parts quite separate in terms of time. I’ll do updates and minichallenges every once in a while (4 hours, maybe? not sure yet), and I’ll leave blogging aside for the rest of the time. Except… I usually take a little to transition from one book to the next, so I may just as well write reviews by and by (still not sure). As for visiting other participants, I’ll concentrate on cheerleading alone during 3-4 hours, and avoid it for the rest of the day. Hope it works better!

Books

I plan to use my first 4-5 hours to finish the book I am currently reading, The Earth, an Intimate History. I only have some 140 pages to go, but it’s going on verrry slowly, and I do hope to be able to cross it off the list!

And then, I want to try a big chunkster this time, and see if it sees me through the whole Read-a-thon. I have a choice of possible titles:

  • George R.R. Martin, A Storm of Swords
  • Sophia McDougall, Rome Burning
  • Diana Gabaldon, Outlander
  • John Irving, Last Night in Twisted River
  • Victoria Hislop, The Return

And of course I have some shorter books at hand if the big ones shouldn’t work:

  • Alessandro Baricco, Novecento
  • 300
  • Fables (vol. 9-10-11-12-13-14)
  • The Drawing of the Dark
  • People of the Book

Comments

I’ll turn off moderation on Saturday morning. Hopefully there won’t be too many spammers around, but if so, please be patient, I’ll remove any spam as soon as I get to my computer. On the other hand, if you experience any difficulty in commenting, let me know!

Food

I know everyone says to have snacks ready, and I do, but I found out that I feel better if I eat regular meals even during a read-a-thon. I’m lucky because I only have to prepare one meal beforehand, but I’ll have to tackle that tonight.

And you? Ready for the Read-a-thon yet?

3 comments on “Plans

  1. *waves pompoms* Whoo! Readathon weekend! I hope you’ll find your previous commitment to be just as enjoyable as reading a book! (I was supposed to have a previous commitment, but they bailed on me. Can’t say that I mind terribly much today. ^-~) I don’t know if I’ll be cheerleading or joining in mini-challenges, but we’ll see…

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

