Top Ten Books I Feel As Though Everyone Has Read But Me

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme for the list lovers among book bloggers, created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. As I was saying yesterday, I’ve been reading it for some time, I love the idea, and I want to try and participate. So… here I am trying to take part in this meme adventure for the first time! Let’s see what I can come up with.

  1. Reading Lolita in Teheran. I tried. I received it through BookCrossing and I even stalled it for nearly one year! (Bad crosser!) But I just couldn’t get into it.
  2. The Hunger Games. This is everywhere and everyone seems to be a fan, but because I always read things way later than your average book blogger, I don’t feel that bad about it. Still, I hope to get to it soon! (ETA: I’ve been looking at other participants’ posts, and it seems this one is a favorite, so I’m not the only one left who hasn’t read it yet!)
  3. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. When this made the rounds, I had read a bit too much about the Shoah, so it didn’t appeal to me. It still doesn’t, because of that first impression. But I may change my mind sooner or later.
  4. Twilight series, and several other vampire-related series issued after this. I’m simply not interested. Don’t get me wrong, I always steer quite clear of any vampire book. But all these recent ones? They just sound empty to me, and while I know I cannot judge books I didn’t read, I won’t bet my time on any of those.
  5. Dracula. See #4 for the reason why (no vampire books for me, thank you). But this is one I’m sad about not reading.
  6. Auntie Mame series and Agnes Browne series. Everybody in Italy seems to be reading these two this year. But I don’t know whether to trust them and try. Ideas?
  7. I Love Shopping series. While I do read a chick-lit novel every once in a while (as long as I don’t have to pay for it I may even enjoy it), the titles here keep me away: I may be the only woman in the world who doesn’t love shopping…
  8. The Invention of Hugo Cabret. I’m not even sure what this is about, but at some point everyone was raving about it.
  9. The Absolutely True Diary of A Part-Time Indian. This has been on my wishlist for ages, but somehow other books slip in first…
  10. And I leave this spot empty. Or rather full: of all the compulsory American literature that I didn’t read because I didn’t study in the US; of most of Shakespeare’s works; of all the YA books many of my fellow bloggers read and I don’t; and of many many more books that don’t come to mind right now…
11 comments on “Top Ten Books I Feel As Though Everyone Has Read But Me

  1. Oh! You must read the Hunger Games soon! I also need to read Sherman Alexie. Everyone LOVES him. Also, I have the Boy in Striped Pajamas at home but still haven’t gotten to it!

    Here’s my top ten books that I feel like everyone has read if you feel like moseying on over to my blog!

  2. I feel like there’s a load of good books and classics I haven’t read but more because I’m a bad reader rather than I’m turned off by them. I agree with what you say about vampires. Not great. It’s a cliche now, every other writer thinks they’re the next big vampire story…

  3. Hunger Games are on my list too, and I would like to read The Boy in the Stripped Pajamas. I can understand your aversion to recent vampire books – although I am quite the opposite, I think I feel similarly to some other books, like Harry Potter. Thanks for stopping by my Top Ten Tuesday.

  4. I haven’t read most of your 10 either. Hugo Cabret is really quite astonishing though- Selznick pushes the envelope (in a good way) with formatting of books- plus it’s set in Paris, that’s nearly enough reason to love it. I read The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas quite soon after it came out before the really big hype, and I just loved it. Good to not know too much of the story with that one I think.

  5. Can I just say that not reading “Twilight”? Awesome idea. I really, really recommend sticking to this idea. “Dracula” makes me a little sad too, though. It’s nothing at all like pop culture made it out to be. (Much like “Frankenstein”, actually, which is the other classic horror book everyone thinks they know because of pop culture and really doesn’t know. Although I grant “Dracula” does tend to fare a little better in comparison, at least in my memory.)

    If you feel sad about not reading it, I do recommend giving a library (or public domain ebook) a chance some time if you’re in the mood for something darker and wintry. You might be surprised by it. And if it turns out you really do hate it and don’t finish… Well, at least you can say you tried, right? (I’m not one for vampire books either. I avoid most all of them like the plague, but I’ve read “Dracula” twice now and enjoyed it both times. If I recall it focuses far more on the relationships of the characters.)

    Of the other books, though… I’ve read nothing either. And the only reason I’ve read as many classics as I have is because my university made me. (Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful, but they weren’t exactly first-choice reading material.) ‘course I read practically exclusively in the (high) fantasy department, so it’s very easy to feel like the only person who hasn’t read a book for me. ^-~

  6. Frankenstein is another one I never read, but I see what you mean about them being very different from the way they are generally perceived. I may try Dracula sometime (husband too kept saying how good a book it is), although I may have to get first over this thing of having nightmares whenever I read the word “vampire” 🙂
    As for the rest, I guess we all feel there’s this book or that book that everyone has read except us (this TTT was very clear in that sense, with the same books appearing on the lists of so many people), but I think if a book merits my attention I will get to it sooner or later. Except, the only time I feel bad about it is when I have a streak of horrible or not so good books, and I think to myself: “why didn’t I buy that other book instead!”

  7. Oooooh. If your reaction to them is that strong, it may not be the best of ideas to try “Dracula”… Though it’s still much… milder than most of the books I’ve read in the genre. The opening chapter(s) are probably the worst in terms of that, though. For a book that’s about him, the epynomous count shows up surprisingly little. And the travel details are gorgeous.

    *nods* This is definitely true. As a meme like this illustrates so wonderfully. D’aaaw… We all have streaks like that, I think. I hope you’re not having one like that now!

  8. That’s the main reason for not tackling Dracula… yet. It’s getting better, though (no nightmares after some Gaiman vampire-themed stories last year, yay!) so I will get to it sooner or later.
    I’m still recovering from a very long streak like that in the first half of this year, but it’s getting better now!

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

