Saying thank you

Life is a bit hectic around here these days. That’s why I haven’t yet fallen into step with (nor told you about, actually) my new blogging schedule and all the big plans I developed while on vacation.

That’s also the main reason why I let BBAW pass without notice. I watched from afar, and spent much of my free time thinking about my book blogging appreciation post — and only now do I get to write it.

Now, looking at the shortlists and awards, it’s easy to see how much the blogging community has expanded and changed in the past few years: most of the names there I had never heard before! I’ve been feeling weird about that, lately, because I feel more and more at loss in front of a community that has expanded well beyond the point where it’s still possible to get to know most people. Not being a great commenter, I’ve always felt an outsider, but that sensation is growing. And with so many people, some of the events that made sense in the past are changing, some are closing, some are more about the community than about books, or the other way around. Just to give you an idea of what I’m talking about: I’ve been kind of away for less than a month this summer, and in that time Weekly Geeks said goodbye and A Novel Challenge risked to do the same (and was saved by a group of brave souls!).

But then, BBAW comes along, and I realize all over again why I love this book blogging world: because despite its changes, it’s still made of great people and their great love of books. People like Dewey, who created so many things for us including the Read-a-Thon (and hey, it’s time to sign-up!) and who will remain in the hearts (and books) of all those who met her. People like Wendy @ Caribousmom, who first had the idea and for so long put a lot of effort in keeping up the Novel Challenge blog. People like Nymeth @ Things mean a lot, who writes exremely thoughtful and professional reviews without being “of the trade”. People like Alex @ The Sleepless Reader and Shanra @ Libri Touches, who are so kind as to continue to read my blog and comment even when I cannot make myself clear in my posts. People who, in general, make me feel welcome — even with my little, badly-written blog.

So thank you all, and long live book bloggers!

And to say thank you to the community as a whole, I’ll add here (although very late) my list for last week’s Top Ten Tuesday (which, by the way, is a weekly event hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and which I intend to participate from now on!).

In honor of BBAW, last week’s theme was Top Ten Books I Read Because of Another Blogger, and that’s why I’m participating, no matter how late: to say thank you to the wonderful bloggers who showed me the way to these books!

1. Neil Gaiman, Neverwhere: Gaiman is everywhere on the blogging world, or at least he was when I first started blogging in 2007. Neverwhere was my first by chance, but it could easily have been anything else by him. So thanks to the whole book blogging community for introducing me to Gaiman, who is sadly underappreciated and unheard of in Italy!

2. Fables: it was Nymeth who first introduced me to this series, by sending me a copy of issue #1 (and several other books and bookmarks) as a welcome when I moved to her homeland in 2009. And note that she was so generous despite not actually knowing me! Just a couple of days ago I finished book #8 and bought the following four, and I am loving every single frame of the series!

3. Anita Nair, Mistress: A Novel: I came across this one thanks to the very first challenge I participated in, i.e. Expanding Horizons by Melissa @ Book Nut. I don’t think I read this for the challenge, but did read it shortly thereafter and loved every single page. And fell in love with stories about India, too!

4. Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveler’s Wife: I don’t know where I saw this for the first time, except that the whole book blogging world seemed to be in love with it.

5. Andrew Davidson, The Gargoyle: another one I discovered thanks to a challenge, and while I don’t really know how I got to it, I’ll thank John @ The Book Mine Set for the Canadian Book Challenge — BTW, I just saw he’s still keeping it up, now in its 5th edition… Shall I join again? Mmmm, I’ll definitely have to consider it!

6. Sara Gruen, Water for Elephants: this too arrived because of the Canadian Book Challenge! Wow!

7. George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones: this is easy because it was a recent read, and it’s all Alex‘s fault! 🙂

I’ve completely lost trace of how I came across the next two on this list, but I’m pretty sure it was some blogger!

8. Laura Esquivel, Like Water for Chocolate

9. Geraldine Brooks, People of the Book

10. And finally, I will leave this slot empty. Why?, you may ask. It’s a Top Ten, not a Top Nine!, you may say. True. But I feel like I’m forgetting something very important, which I always do when I write down lists. So this slot is for the book(s) that I was grateful to discover thanks to the blogging community, but that don’t come to mind at the moment!

4 comments on “Saying thank you

  1. Should I read more Portuguese books, then? 😉 (I do want to try… Any suggestion as to Portuguese authors?)
    Thank you again, and… congratulations for your news!

  2. even when I cannot make myself clear in my posts.

    Psssh. You express yourself just fine, hun. ❤ I've always found your posts perfectly clear. (Well, okay, maybe not always, but it's certainly a rare occasion when you weren't clear.) I suspect, if you're anything like me, it's mostly just caused by words not doing exactly what you want them to, even though the sentences are perfectly clear to everyone else. So no more calling your blog badly written, please? 's not true.

    And I love your philosophy behind leaving your tenth space in TTT open for all the books you couldn't think of right now. That's a lovely idea! I'm curious, did you put them in a specific order or is it just the way they came into your head?

    Also, I always find Gaiman's international publishing credentials very odd. He's, like, one of the mammoths of English-language genre publishing, but every non-English person I talk to comments on how little known he is in their country/how little he's been translated into their language. It always confuses me.

  3. Shanra, you are so sweet! While I work with English all the time, it’s still not my mother tongue, and I do feel the difference, because it feels I would be able to say more and better in Italian (I’m not sure I would, though). And I do wonder whether readers will understand or am I just babbling to myself? Anyway, thank you!
    To answer your question, this list is in random order: I loved each and every one of them a lot!
    And as for Gaiman, I suspect that his writing is not very translatable. You’d need an exceptional translator to get the preciousness of his books through. As a translator myself, I know I would never tackle it, it’s way above my capacities, but I also know I’ll keep reading his books in English, because when I tried to read one in Italian, it lost all its magic!

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

