Love is on the 11th

One year ago on this day, my then fiancé entered a church accompanied by his mother.

One year ago on this day, I entered the same church arm-in-arm with my father.

When we came out, we were a family.

This was the church:

One year ago on this day, I married the man who is my best friend and my love, the one who makes me a better person and shows me the way to reach higher. It’s been one beautiful year of walking together.

I thought it would be nice to celebrate also on this blog, and how better than with books, since it’s a passion that we both share? So here’s my gift to my husband: a reading list that tells the story of our first year together.

  1. Sep. 11 to Oct. 11, 2010: we went on honeymoon, whale watching, in the Azores. Book: Cheryl Kaye Tardif, Whale Song (OK, it would be Herman Melville, Moby-Dick, but apparently hubby has already read it)
  2. Oct. 11 to Nov. 11, 2010: following an episode happened during our honeymoon, we decided to take riding lessons. Book: Sara Gruen, Riding Lessons
  3. Nov. 11 to Dec. 11, 2010: due to a plumbing problem, our home was flooded. Book: Susan Casey, The Wave (here too, my first choice would be Amitav Ghosh, The Hungry Tide, but this time it’s me who have already read it)
  4. Dec. 11, 2010 to Jan. 11, 2011: we went to see our parents during the Christmas vacations. Book: Frances Mayes, Under the Tuscan Sun: At Home in Italy (not that we’re Tuscan, but still)
  5. Jan. 11 to Feb 11, 2011: we traveled to Greece! Book: Steven Pressfield, Gates of Fire (and if I am not wrong, this is one we actually have on our bookshelves!)
  6. Feb. 11 to Mar. 11, 2011: probably around this time we realized that our post-wedding weight-gain was out of control 😦 Book: Carolyn Mackler, The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things (I don’t think either of us would like this one, but the title is irresistible!)
  7. Mar. 11 to Apr. 11, 2011: we nurtured high (and unfortunately empty) hopes that we would be able to move back to Italy soon. Book: Charles Dickens, Great Expectations
  8. Apr. 11 to May 11, 2011: we went to Rome for Easter! Book: Irving Stone, The Agony and the Ecstasy (on my TBR list)
  9. May 11 to Jun. 11, 2011: we celebrated hubby’s birthday by exploring the mountains around Coimbra. Book: Bill Bryson, A Walk in the Woods
  10. Jun. 11 to Jul. 11, 2011: we visited a medieval fair. Book: Victor Hugo, The Hunchback of Notre-Dame
  11. Jul. 11 to Aug. 11, 2011: we were both overwhelmed by the amount of work on our respective desks. Book: Timothy Ferriss, The 4-Hour Workweek
  12. Aug. 11 to Sep. 11, 2011: we visited Vienna, where we first met! Book: Teresa Grant, Vienna Waltz (I don’t know why most books set in Vienna seem to be thrillers, but this sounds interesting)

These are all books that I have never read, but I chose them mostly based on their titles, to reflect what happened in our lives. If you have any better suggestion, please share!

DISCLAIMER: I am aware that the rest of the world is commemorating today a very different event and I have no intention of being disrespectful towards the people who died or suffered because of 9/11 and everything that happened because of that. I do think about and pray for them. But to me, today is the first anniversary of our wedding more than anything else.

4 comments on “Love is on the 11th

  1. Thank you, Alex. The Azores are indeed great, we were there for three weeks, but I still would get back immediately! And, swimming with dolphins and seeing a spermwhale calf from a very short distance… great memories! I don’t know if you already had the chance, but if you get it, do go and try!

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

