Wondrous Words Wednesday: a blog find

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) and interesting (to us, again) words we encountered in our readings. See this week round-up at BermudaOnion’s blog!

My word for this week comes from the Internet.

*****

One coupon claimed $100 credit at Diamonds International jewelry store. If you’re a skeptic like me, you’ll appreciate the need to adventure in to see what you can buy for a benjamin.

Benjamin: n. (US, slang) A US$100 bill, which bears a portrait of Benjamin Franklin. Often used in the plural form to indicate large sums of money.
*This definition comes from Wiktionary.

I found this on a blog I follow, and while the sense was clear from context, I wondered why a $100 bill would be called benjamin. Now it’s clear!

Image credits: Wikipedia

*****

(All definitions are taken from the Concise Oxford English Dictionary © 2008 via WordReference.com unless otherwise stated.)

8 comments on “Wondrous Words Wednesday: a blog find

  1. Thank you, all. I imagine there’s plenty of other names, too, and this is one I had never seen. (Plus, I never remember who is portraited on which bill, so.)

  2. That one is new to me. I guess I really don’t pay attention to whose portrait in on my money – not that I carry around a roll of benjamins very often.

  3. @ Annie: really? I lived in France before the Euro, but never heard that! Thanks for sharing!

    @ Margot: LOL

    @ Mary Ann: thank you for stopping by!>

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

