Book: What to Expect When You’re Expecting

The book: What to Expect When You’re Expecting, by Heidi Murkoff and Sharon Mazel

The edition: new and revised (4th) edition, Italian version by Sonia Sferzi, 575 pages

About the book: a step-by-step (or week-by-week) guide to pregnancy

My experience with the book & my thoughts: to start with, I need to say that I am not pregnant, so my evaluation of this book may be a little biased. I wanted to know more about pregnancy, and after a long search this was the only book I found that explained things throughly, didn’t make fun of them, and most of all didn’t treat the reader like a woman with attention-deficits who needs lots of pictures and bullet-lists and asides to go through a book.
I found it to be informative and encouraging, if nor exhaustive. I’d have appreciated more information on pre-natal exams, but I’ve seen that other people would have appreciated less information on some aspects, and I do see that, to a pregnant woman, some parts can be unnecessarily scary. I appreciated less the “All About” section at the end of each month-related chapter, because some of that information was not necessarily related to the month it was put in.

What I liked: detailed information.

What I didn’t like: I know it is a guide and that in all guidebooks there may be repetitions, because some readers may only go through a few sections; still those repetitions had me roll my eyes every time (OK, I know that smoke and alcohol are bad for the baby! Again? I know already!).

Language & translation: the major problem I had with this book, was never knowing how much had only been translated (i.e. still described the situation in the USA) and how much had been localized (and described what I may encounter in Italy).

In the author’s own words: nothing to report, really.

Links to better understand this book: oww, I don’t think you need them, it’s a guide! 🙂

Random thought: wow, there’s a whole series of WTE books!

Read this if: it is a good guide, but I am glad I read it before ever getting pregnant, because I don’t think I would have made it through during pregnancy, it’s quite the tome!

Counts as: One Two Theme Challenge – Pregnancy book #4

2 comments on “Book: What to Expect When You’re Expecting

  1. This book was a great help to me when I was pregnant – pretty much all my various questions were covered and the answers had no judgement. That’s pretty hard to find. I also had the next one, What to Expect in the First Year, also great when you didn’t know if what your baby is doing is normal or not!

  2. Thank you for your comment. Knowing about pregnancy is enough for me at the moment, but if we ever get pregnant I’ll be sure to buy and read that one as well!

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

