Don’t judge a book by its cover…

… judge it by its name. Or at least choose it by its name.

That’s what the What’s in a Name Challenge asked us to do. After eying it ever since it was first created, I was finally able to participate in its fourth installment this year, hosted by Beth Fish. Choosing the books for the challenge was… interesting, although I tried not to choose anything based only on the title — I wasn’t brave enough for that! So here’s what I came up with (links are to my thoughts):

Unfortunately, although they were all books I wanted to read, I only enjoyed two (travel, life stage) out of six, the other four were either disappointing or very crude. Even thus, four of them (number, travel, evil, life stage) gave me much food for thought, that is, I am glad I read them nevertheless, while the remaining two I would never suggest to anyone.

Interesting experience! Maybe next year I’ll just choose based on the titles, without checking out the books before, I may be more fortunate 🙂

2 comments on “Don’t judge a book by its cover…

  1. I just finished the challenge too. I thought about reading Girl with a Pearl Earring too for the challenge, but changed because like you, I wasn’t too intrigued when I read the summary. Glad you still enjoyed some of the other books 🙂

  2. Thank you for passing by! I think Pearl Earring was one of the most disappointing books I read in my life 😦 but I had been curious about it, so it was my fault 😉

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

