Wondrous Words Wednesday: random

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) and interesting (to us, again) words we encountered in our readings. See this week round-up at BermudaOnion’s blog!

This week I didn’t realize it was Wednesday until I saw BermudaOnion’s post in my reader, and that’s bad because I had many words to share, but I don’t have the time to do so right now. So you’ll get a “random word from Internet” post instead. I promise a better post next week!

*****

The gadrooned moldings also indicate the work of different hands.

Gadroon: n. a decorative edging on metal or wood formed by convex curves.

Source: AntiquePurveyor.com

(Word received from a random word generator, context found on Google Books and from Antiques, vol. 143)

*****

(All definitions are taken from the Concise Oxford English Dictionary © 2008 via WordReference.com unless otherwise stated.)

6 comments on “Wondrous Words Wednesday: random

  1. Hello Scribacchina,

    Thank you for visiting my site and adding your valued comments to my post.

    There are just so many great memes out there, that it is difficult to keep up with them all, but they are certainly a good place to ‘meet’ lots of interesting new people like yourself.

    I have heard of your random word for today, as we receive a television programme here in the UK, called ‘Antiques Roadshow’ and that word has been used many times by the furniture experts. The word doesn’t really suit it’s definition to my mind, but it’s a great one to say.

  2. @ Yvonne: I thought this time no one would know it (I chose one from the “obscure words” list), but I was wrong. I am awed!

    @ Margot: I know I’ll eventually go on calling them just, well, “borders” 🙂

    @ Lisa: Thanks for stopping by!

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

