Book to movie: Water for Elephants

A few days ago, I saw a review of this movie on BermudaOnion’s blog and I am very grateful to her, because I had no idea a movie had been made on this book. Thing is, on the following day my husband and I were browsing cinema programs to schedule a movie night out and there it was… so on Saturday we went and watched it.

For those of you who don’t know, “Water for Elephants” is a movie directed by Francis Lawrence and based on the book of the same title by Sara Gruen. Which I loved. I quite like to see movie transpositions of books I loved, although I am usually disappointed.

This time I wasn’t. The movie version is very close to its book original, and I enjoyed watching the story, it was like rereading a cherished book. In a way, I felt the movie went even deeper, because it gave depth to August character — in the book he was just violent, in the movie that violence is deeply linked to his love. On the other hand it seems to me that something was lost on the present-time storyframe: in the book, you are never sure if the story is true or is just some form of old age dementia, and this was completely left out from the movie.

Oh, and knowing the story beforehand… tears got to my eyes in the very first scene of the movie, when Jakob sees Marlena’s picture…

2 comments on “Book to movie: Water for Elephants

  1. I’m looking forward to watching this one. Especially Christoph Waltz as August (do you also have the feeling they casted him so his coolness balances Patterson’s reputation and hence it’s ok for men to want to watch the movie? ;)).

  2. Hey Alex, glad to see you’re back!
    I’m afraid I cannot answer, I’m hopeless at recognizing actors (wouldn’t recognize Brad Pitt if I saw him!) so I know nothing of their reputation and never watch movies because of who plays in them…

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

