A book shower and other news

I know many bloggers out there are on a book-buying ban, and I feel sorry for them. This will be a very self-indulging post, so be advised (I hope you won’t be jealous! If you want to skip the part where I buy books, scroll down and read about the other news!)

I know many of them also have bookshelves full of their TBR pile. Not me. I tend to read things quite soon, and although I do have some backlog I wouldn’t call it a pile. That’s why I can still buy books. That, and the fact that books are the one and only “vice” me and my husband indulge upon. (If you don’t count traveling. But we haven’t done a lot of traveling this year. Yet.)

Anyway, it was time for us to indulge in some book-buying. And books have started to arrive this week, so I decided to show you the goodness!

Here’s what we got:

For me:

  • The Earth: An Intimate History by Richard Fortey
  • Pompeii by Robert Harris
  • Romanitas by Sophia McDougall
  • The Merlot Murders by Ellen Crosby
  • Mr S. and the Secret of Andorra’s Box by Ross O’Carroll-Kelly
  • Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey (from the library)

For husband:

  • The Chrysalids by John Wyndham
  • The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham
  • The Last Coyote by Michael Connelly
  • The Nikopol Trilogy by Enki Bilal (from the library)

But that’s not all, because we are still waiting for more (we hoped for them to arrive today, but they didn’t. We’ll have to wait a few days now):

For me:

  • The Last Storyteller by Diane Noble
  • Learning to Fly by Roxanne Henke

For husband:

  • Kon-Tiki by Thor Heyerdahl
  • Gambit Busters by Sam Collins

Not yet happy, today we tried for the first time an order on AbeBooks. That will take some more time to get to us, so we’ll see. Here’s what we ordered:

For me:

  • The Art Thief by Noah Charney
  • The Agony and the Ecstasy by Irving Stone
  • The Geometry of Love:Space, Time, Mystery, and Me by Margaret Visser

For husband:

  • My Best Games by Anatoly Karpov
  • Danilov the violist by Vladimir Orlov

So now there will be plenty of books at home and we’re ready. What for? For the spring edition of Dewey’s Read-A-Thon, which is already (or shall I say finally?) coming up!

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon will take place on Saturday, April 9th, and it’s time to sign up! If you don’t know what it is (how could you? but still), check the page on the Read-A-Thon history and their FAQs. Or you could just trust me it’s fun, go, and sign up!

Me and my husband have been waiting for it since last October edition, and we will participate for sure. It will be my third and his second, and it’s always been fun. Back in October I said next time I would be a cheerleader, now I’m not so sure. What do you think? Have you ever been a cheerleader for the Read-A-Thon?

Oh, by the way, I’ve been thinking about this for a while… what happened to the Bookworms Carnivals? I never participated, but I used to love them. They seem to have stopped while I was not blogging, and I miss them! What about you?

On a completely different note, if you live in the UK or Ireland, you are lucky and I am jealous! World Book Night is tomorrow and one million books will be given away all over the two countries! It looks like the event may be more global next year, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

4 comments on “A book shower and other news

  1. I’m so jealous. I’ve been abstaining from buying books for financial reasons. I would love to go on a spree like this. I’m so jealous. Instead I’m limited to libraries, which are great, but they do have waiting lists for new releases. And, say, The U.S. needs World Book Night. If our government can bail out banks with the taxpayers money (and then allow said banks increase credit card rates on existing balances [well, they did for awhile anyway]), at least they could throw me a free book! And that said, I’ll take that declaration one step further: Books not bombs!

  2. I know. I was on buying bans before (especially last year!) so I know what it feels like. I hope things get better and you can lift your ban soon!
    Books not bombs! That’s a good slogan! 🙂

  3. Now that’s a spree! 🙂 I’m one of the ones who is on a ban, but only because I can’t possibly read all the books I own any time soon. We’ve run out of shelf space!

    I’m doing the read-a-thon too. I was a cheerleader last time and enjoyed it a lot. You don’t have to do it all the time, sign up for a couple of hours and see how you like it!

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

