Wondrous Words Wednesday: [without a theme]

Because this past week I’ve been reading in Italian and Portuguese rather than English, yesterday I realized I had no new words for today’s post 😦 So a quick Google search got me to two lovely websites: WordSmith.org and WordThink.com. Today’s words and definitions come from there. (See this week round-up at BermudaOnion’s blog)

*****

Caitiff: n. A cowardly and despicable person. – adj. Cowardly, despicable.

*****

Sanguine: adj. Cheerfully optimistic, hopeful, or confident

*****

Tetchy: adj. Easily annoyed; oversensitive.

*****

Placate: v. To make somebody less angry, upset, or hostile, usually by doing or saying things to please him or her; appease.

9 comments on “Wondrous Words Wednesday: [without a theme]

  1. 4 great words there, and congratulations on digging up some new ones that way. I think tetchy is a great word. Underutilised for sure. I will have to try and use it this week. Caitiff was the only new to me word. Interesting.

  2. @ Bermudaonion: five (ahem) except when I find myself some courage and try reading in Spanish (which I don’t speak, but can somehow read, if the text is simple) — but truly? I only read Italian and English very fast…

    @ Louise: thanks for passing by. I like tetchy, and I love that today’s two words seem connected: if someone is tetchy, you may have to placate them…

  3. I admire your ability to read and write in multiple languages. Thanks for the links you’ve given for finding new words. I’m going to explore them further.

  4. @ Margot: I hope I didn’t sound like I was bragging about it. Having learnt so many is one of the reasons I am a word-geek (or maybe it’s the other way round, being a word-geek is one of the reasons I am successful at learning languages). Glad you liked the links!

    @ Mary Ann and Sherrie: thank you for your input!

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

