Reading plans…

End of the year. While not blogging and not reading much this year, I missed reading challenges a lot, so I decided to sign up for quite a few for next year. Here we go.

*****

First up is One Two Theme! A Reading Challenge. Organized by two European bloggers I didn’t know before (but I’m all for Europe-based blogs), Alex from The Sleepless Reader and Joanna from It’s All About Me, this is defined as a “geeky” challenge because it stems from the idea of reading more about specific themes you choose. Here’s the rules in more detail:

Pick at least three themes and dive in – you can read the rules here, but basically each theme you pick is a separate block. For block one you need to read one book, for block two, two books and so on. From block two onwards you must have at least one each of fiction and non-fiction books.

I didn’t choose my books yet, and I’m not 100% sure I will not change the order of the themes or add something else, but these are my themes for now:

  1. Art
  2. Wine, wineries, wine tasting
  3. Geology/Vulcanology (is it cheating if I choose a theme that may be of help with my work in the near future?)
  4. Pregnancy and maternity

(Any suggestion for theme 4 as well as suggestions for fiction in theme 3 will be greatly appreciated.) [ETA: My husband suggested Journey to the Center of the Earth for theme 3, and I’ll second that; any other suggestion is still welcome!]

Challenge lasts from January 1, 2011 through to December 31, 2011.

*****

I always liked the idea behind the What’s in a Name Challenge. It is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and this year’s categories are as follows:

  1. A book with a number in the title: First to Die, Seven Up, Thirteen Reasons Why
  2. A book with jewelry or a gem in the title: Diamond Ruby, Girl with a Pearl Earring, The Opal Deception
  3. A book with a size in the title: Wide Sargasso Sea, Small Wars, Little Bee
  4. A book with travel or movement in the title: Dead Witch Walking, Crawling with Zombies, Time Traveler’s Wife
  5. A book with evil in the title: Bad Marie, Fallen, Wicked Lovely
  6. A book with a life stage in the title: No Country for Old Men, Brideshead Revisited, Bog Child

My choices so far:

  1. Number: ???
  2. Jewelry or gem: Girl with a Pearl Earring
  3. Size: ???
  4. Travel or movement: ???
  5. Evil: ???
  6. Life stage: Bog Child

Challenge lasts from January 1, 2011 through to December 31, 2011.

*****

Isn’t that a great button? I could sign up for the I Want More 2011 Book Challenge just to share the button. Hosted by Marce (Tea Time With Marce), it challenges you to read more by an author you have loved. In Marce’s words:

There are so many amazing authors but sometimes we get caught up in reading all the new we forget about the authors that have already impressed, excited us, gave us what all readers want, a great read, that wow moment, so this Challenge is to show all the authors that have pleased us already how thankful we are by reading more of their literary works.

I’ll sign up for the “Waited too long” level, i.e. 2 to 4 books. I already own one by Mia Couto (wow moment this year with A River Called Time) and one by Sue Monk Kidd (wow moment in 2009 with The Secret Life of Bees), but I may add more.

Challenge lasts from January 1, 2011 through to December 31, 2011.

*****

I liked all the Indian books I read, so the South Asian Challenge 2011 hosted by S. Krishna’s Books should be a good one. Here’s the deal in Swapna Krishna’s words:

It’s simple: I challenge you to read books about South Asia and by South Asian authors during the calendar year of 2011.

For this challenge, South Asia is defined as follows:

South Asia consists of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, the Maldives and Bhutan.

I’ll join the challenge at the South Asian Wanderer level: 3 books, which I have yet to choose. Question: if I loved The God of Small Things, what should I read next?

Challenge lasts from January 1, 2011 through to December 31, 2011.

*****


Beside Asia, I always liked to read books from around the world, so I’ll join the 2011 Global Reading Challenge hosted by Danish blogger Dorte H. Rules:

Read one novel from each of these continents in the course of 2011: Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, North America, South America (please include Central America where it is most convenient for you), the Seventh Continent (here you can either choose Antarctica or your own ´seventh´ setting, eg the sea, the space, a supernatural/paranormal world, history, the future – you name it).

(Those are the rules for the easy level, which I am choosing.)

No list yet, though I’m sure I’ll read either Eduardo Agualusa or Mia Couto for Africa, and probably Vargas Llosa for South America.

Challenge lasts from January 1, 2011 through to December 31, 2011.

*****

And since the last two challenges are about traveling: of course there is also my own Travel With Books Reading Project (click through if you are curious!)

4 comments on “Reading plans…

  1. Thank you so much for joining my challenge. The picture is amazing ain’t it 🙂 I was drooling over the book art on etsy.com Look forward to your reviews.

  2. I’m so glad you’ll join us for the One, Two Theme 🙂

    For wines (great theme, maybe I’ll take it up next year!), haven’t read it, but it immidiately poped into my head: Sideways by Rex Pickett. For art, maybe we can exchange itas because I’m doing art restorations/conservation/business. Have you chosen the books yet?

  3. Pickett? Never heard of him (:shame:), I’ll look into that. For art, I don’t know really. I have The Girl With the Pearl Earring on TBR pile, but I’m not sure if I’ll stick to it or choose some non-fiction instead. I’ll have a look around and let you know any idea that pops up on that side! Thank you and thanks for the challenge!

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

