Travel With Books, or: Hey, a reading project!

When I choose what to read, I usually go with gut feeling. I never had any major reading project set for myself, except from school reading projects and, since book blogging started, reading challenges. Book by book, I choose what I feel like reading next, and I’m fine with that.

Still, I have cradled one reading idea for some time now: that it would be nice to read books about or set in a place before I visit that place. I’ve been traveling quite a lot in the past few years and the idea turned up every time I planned a new trip, yet I never got around to actually take it through.

Then I mentioned it to my readers during the Read-A-Thon, and the idea has never left me since. I thought it through and decided to transform it into a real personal reading project. (Feel free to join, if you wish! I’d be happy to share thoughts and destinations! Just email me ioscribacchinaATgmailDOTcom or leave a comment!)

Here’s what I plan to do: read at least a couple of books for each place I visit, and blog about it. Each post will feature:

  • a list of possible books about that destination
  • a list of the books I read, with links to reviews if I wrote them
  • pictures from my trip
  • my thoughts about how the real place and its bookish counterpart related in my experience

I will add links here to my destination posts. Should you ever write a post that fits into this project, let me know and I’ll add a link to your blog too!

If you want to join or share, feel free to grab the button. It is based on a beautiful picture by Calsidyrose I found on Flickr. If you know anything about vintage compasses, please click through and see if you can answer the author’s questions. Thank you.

Destinations:

  • Greece (Athens and Crete)
Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

