Read-A-Thon: Armchair Travelling

I can’t believe I almost missed this mini-challenge hosted by Marg @ The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader! Here’s what Marg is asking:

My challenge to you (if you choose to accept it) is to write a post sharing some of the sites from your books, or some facts about the place where your books are set. It could be books that you are reading for readathon, or books you have read recently, or some of your favourite books ever.

Marg also wrote that she has a fascinating habit of looking up pictures of the places books are set in, because she cannot travel much. This immediately brought to mind a project that I’ve been considering for some time now: go on literary visits of the places I go to. I’ve been blessed with the chance to travel a lot in the last few years (although not for touristic reasons) and going back to the same place a second time I always thought it would be nice to read books set there and go visit the places mentioned in the books — instead of seeing the same sights each time I went. Unfortunately, I never got around to actually do it.

So this time I’ve done the reverse: as I mentioned, my husband and I are just back from our honeymoon, which was in the Azores, and tonight I read a book set there, by Italian writer Antonio Tabucchi. (I didn’t like it too much, though, but as it was written at the beginning of the Eighties, it was interesting to see how much things have changed since.) So, here you go, some pictures from the Atlantic Ocean:

 

Photo by Arttmiss on Flickr

 

 

Photo by Patxi64 on Flickr

 

 

Photo by NunoRibeiro on Flickr

 

(Note: these pictures were not taken by us, but they describe our honeymoon much more than they describe Tabucchi’s book)

3 comments on “Read-A-Thon: Armchair Travelling

  1. Fun! I love reading books set in places that I’ve been, or plan to visit, although I don’t do it nearly as much as I would like to. Sounds like it would make a nice personal reading project.

  2. Gorgeous photos! Thanks so much for participating in my mini challenge!

    One thing I didn’t mention in my post is that if I was to go back to some of the places I have been I would definitely be going to visit different sites as a result of the books I have read since the first time I was there.

Ditelo con parole vostre/Let your words be heard

